La Chanteuse am Graben – Food Photo Blog

喫 (chi)

Matcha Latte

with 47 comments


Homemade, February 2011 in Vienna, Austria

I was in Japan last year and brought this small can of matcha from Uji, the ancient city that has been famous for green tea cultivation since centuries, after attending a tea ceremony.

Here’s an animation video on how to prepare matcha: http://www.ippodo-tea.co.jp/tea/matcha_01.html

*This matcha latte is with soy milk and muscovado sugar.

Written by Chanteuse am Graben

February 2, 2011 at 11:41 am

47 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that tea looks really good for some reason. cant go wrong with green tea from japan.

    enjoibeing

    February 8, 2011 at 5:09 pm

  2. Wow, the picture is very nice, and I wish I could drink it right now since it’s -26C today in Toronto!

    ElenaSC

    February 8, 2011 at 5:13 pm

  3. Your picture is perfection. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

    notesfromrumbleycottage

    February 8, 2011 at 5:25 pm

  4. You are sure it has no wasabi cream ;) No kidding, it looks very delicious.

    karlover

    February 8, 2011 at 5:52 pm

  5. Oh my! I have just recently gotten addicted to Chai lattes, might have to just add this to my repertoir!

    I Made You A Mixtape

    February 8, 2011 at 6:05 pm

  6. I went to the “how to” video but it was in Japanese. It looks great anyways and I want some!!!

    makingup3000

    February 8, 2011 at 6:09 pm

  7. -Thank you! The picture looks fabulous!

    countoncross

    February 8, 2011 at 6:14 pm

  8. I love it…
    Thank for it…!

    William

    Perfumes & Wellness

    February 8, 2011 at 6:26 pm

  9. Picture makes it look very yummy. I love green tea. I don’t have any from Japan. I’ll have to see if I can get some. Thanks for posting!

    Fogleman Forerunner

    February 8, 2011 at 6:35 pm

  10. This is beautiful, as is the rest of your blog! Going to check out your Chinese version too. :)

    Christine

    February 8, 2011 at 6:37 pm

  11. there is actually a japanese tea shop in the naschmarkt area (Vienna) called Cha No Ma. They make great macha latte

    fraulotte

    February 8, 2011 at 6:46 pm

  12. I’m not sure what everyone is talking about, but I thought I’d just throw in my two cents anyway. I’m trying to fix my password. Ever since I tried to log in too many times it has challenged me to answer all kinds of questions to which I know the answer, but, unfortunately, the login server does not know, so it keeps getting stuck on the correct answer. Now, before I can fix that, I have to fix the login server’s bad answers, then go back to the correct answer. It’s very hard when that machine is dumb and doesn’t know the correct answers, but I do know the answers, being the human being it is trying to identify. I’ll get it fixed sooner or later; I just wish the server would obey me and not the stupid program that was put into it!!!

    Terry Boling

    February 8, 2011 at 7:05 pm

  13. The Tea looks killer, by the way.

    T.

    Terry Boling

    February 8, 2011 at 7:06 pm

  14. So inviting! What parts of Japan did you enjoy most?

    midnitechef

    February 8, 2011 at 7:38 pm

  15. Ok so maybe it is true that bigger pics and less content equals Freshly Pressed. Congrats on making the cut.

    J Roycroft

    February 8, 2011 at 7:45 pm

  16. This past year I’ve really gotten into green tea and drink it at LEAST once a day. I’m not familiar with this ‘matcha’ but I’m going to look into it! Thanks for the post and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    All County Insurance - Brea, California

    February 8, 2011 at 8:55 pm

  17. It looks amazing, I would love to try it!

    FinallyFast

    February 8, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  18. […] Matcha Latte (via La Chanteuse am Graben – Food Photo Blog) Posted on February 8, 2011 by boulix Homemade, February 2011 in Vienna, Austria I was in Japan last year and brought this small can of matcha from Uji, the ancient city that has been famous for green tea cultivation since centuries, after attending a tea ceremony. Here's an animation video on how to prepare matcha: http://www.ippodo-tea.co.jp/tea/matcha_01.html *This matcha latte is with soy milk and muscovado sugar. … Read More […]

  19. Great pic, i really liked it.
    Thanks for the wonderful post.

    Vanimator
    http://www.vanimator.com

    vanimator

    February 8, 2011 at 10:09 pm

  20. The pic looks great!! We really would like to try this.

    zehra&suhan

    February 8, 2011 at 10:22 pm

  21. We first eat with our eyes. Yes?

    anonnickus

    February 8, 2011 at 10:34 pm

  22. I am not a big latte drinker but this drink looks simply amazing. Wonderful job and the photo is very inviting.

    Babygirl

    February 8, 2011 at 11:05 pm

  23. 不錯喝的樣子^^

    myleet

    February 9, 2011 at 12:07 am

  24. I believe my salivary glands are flooded.

    william clark

    February 9, 2011 at 12:19 am

  25. […] vad grymt sugen jag blev på den här lattekoppen, trots att det är läggdags! Matbloggen La Chanteuse am Graben visste vad jag ville ha just nu och klippte t.om. in en liten film om hur man gör […]

  26. Pretty.

    CultureChoc2010

    February 9, 2011 at 1:57 am

  27. Lovely photo, well captured, even down to the Asian-Zen feel…

    Silver Birch Studio Photography

    February 9, 2011 at 2:11 am

  28. Matcha is one of my very favorite things in the world. I worked at a coffee shop in Sun Valley, Idaho, USA for a few years and was introduced to it there. You made it beautifully!

    Kaela Moore

    February 9, 2011 at 2:30 am

  29. I have been trying to find Matcha tea and I can’t. Does anyone know if it is sold at Earth Fare?

    Booksphotographsandartwork

    February 9, 2011 at 2:56 am

  30. White, Chocolatish and Green – Never seen such colourful tea.

    rohitmaiya

    February 9, 2011 at 4:05 am

  31. i love to try it. :D

    melanxxx

    February 9, 2011 at 4:54 am

  32. I am super excited to have stumbled upon this entry!
    I have recently become obsessed with match, not only does it taste great in a latte but it is so good for you.
    I have been looking for new, more efficient ways to make my matcha soy lattes but I can’t seem to ever whisk it enough.
    Thanks for the vid!

    ashleythinks

    February 9, 2011 at 5:52 am

  33. Wow, That looks great. I would love to try some. :)

    Harjit Malhi

    February 9, 2011 at 6:17 am

  34. wow thats really great!

    Mobsy

    February 9, 2011 at 6:30 am

  35. beautiful photos!

  36. Thank you all very much for the comments, I’ll try to keep up the work!
    J Roycroft, if you’d like to read more, you’re welcome to visit
    http://taipeivienna.blogspot.com/
    There are lots of words there.

    Chanteuse

    February 9, 2011 at 11:22 am

  37. È molto bello leggere le tue righe, davvero belissimo. Io sono felice.

    Sebastiano

    February 9, 2011 at 12:26 pm

  38. Great pic, I can almost taste it! ^^

    lostbutf0und

    February 9, 2011 at 12:31 pm

  39. The photo looks really good. I think their milk helps with the taste.

    Xoxo

    February 9, 2011 at 1:01 pm

  40. lovely

    acidsex

    February 9, 2011 at 1:48 pm

  41. looks really good. making me thirsty!

    Kristin

    February 9, 2011 at 2:09 pm

  42. At first the tea looked unappetising. But it kinda looks like something to try :) something new…

    Cath silc

    February 9, 2011 at 2:24 pm

  43. It’s such a coincidence that I was drinking a latte when I saw this! I’m a big fan of anything to do with coffee or tea, so I will make sure to try this sometime, if I get matcha here in the US.
    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!
    Ashley, aka TheEverydayMuser
    http://www.theeverydaymuser.wordpress.com

    TheEverydayMuser

    February 9, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  44. Great pic! Are you sure that isn’t just washing fluid then, lol. Looks good either way.

    socialmediascout

    February 9, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  45. Your cuppa looked so divine that I got up and microwaved a cup of water to make myself a green teabag tea which I am sipping on while writing this. Twinings teabags are very good for someone like me who does not like to stay in the kitchen longer than she has to.

    Roda

    February 9, 2011 at 5:39 pm

  46. LOVED the animation. So cute! Does look yummy :)

    Gloriadelia

    February 9, 2011 at 5:40 pm

  47. nice x

    dressmeperfect

    February 12, 2011 at 1:00 am


Leave a Reply

